Category Archives: Selly Manor

Selly Manor gardens photo tour

Selly Manor was originally located in Bournbrook, moving to Bournville in the early 1900s when Laurence Cadbury built his factory. The bright gardens in the grounds of the Manor have been beautifully sculpted and maintained for visitors to enjoy. Following our photo tour of the interior, we are sharing our exploration of the Manor grounds.

The entrance to the property is decorated with a rustic fence beds of plants.

ferns foliage gardens, selly manor, birmigham, heritage

A variety of greenery and flowers boom in midsummer, overlooking nearby University of Birmingham buildings.

mini geometric maze, gardens, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

A miniature geometric maze adds grandeur to the beautiful Manor house.

Gypsophila and Lupins, gardens, selly manor, birmingham heritage

The small violet Gypsophila and vibrant Lupins create a careful colour scheme with their generous use in the gardens.

exterior gardens, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

Gardens wrap around the house, surrounding it with foliage. At the exterior is a large lawn is bordered by flowers.

minworth greaves, selly manor, birmingham

Minworth Greaves sits at the back of the property. It was originally situated in Minworth, dating back around 750 years, but was moved in 1932 by Laurence Cadbury.

trellis, gardens, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

There are many secret spots in the Selly Manor gardens to explore. Entrance to the gardens only is £1, and would make a lovely afternoon visit this summer. Visit sellymanormuseum.org.uk to plan your visit.

All images are property of Brumitecture, please do not use without permission.

Selly Manor photo tour, Birmingham

Although modest in size, Selly Manor remains one of Birmingham’s finest examples of traditional wattle and daub architecture. First documented in 1327, Selly Manor and its accompanying building, Minworth Greaves, have had an interesting history, moving from their original locations to Bournville in the early 1900s.

Now open as a museum housing the Laurence Cadbury Collection of furniture, the property is open to the public throughout the year. Selly Manor is well worth a visit, but if you fancy a sneak peek, here’s our photo tour.

The Parlour, Selly Manor Birmingham, heritage

The Parlour is situated at the entrance to the Manor, a large open plan room designed for relaxing and socialising. It also doubled as a sleeping area for the male servants who guarded the house from intruders.

inglenook fireplace, the parlour, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

The room was heated by an inglenook fireplace, the equivalent of ‘central heating’ at the time! Each room in the house had a fireplace primarily for heat, although they were also functionally used for light and cooking.

the hall, dining table, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

The Hall acted as both the dining room and the kitchen, and was the most active area of the home. The fireplace was used for cooking, and still contains early ‘appliances’ for preparing food.

table dressing, the hall, selly manor, birmingha, heritage

The household would eat here, entertaining guests over dinner.

the bedchamber, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

On the first floor of the Manor lies The Bedchamber. One of two bedrooms on this floor, this room houses a tester bed from the Laurence Cadbury Collection.

four poster bed, the bedchamber, selly manor, birmingham, heritage

The wooden headboard is engraved with the letters ‘EP’ and the date ‘1592’. It is believed to belong to the Welsh Bishop Edmund Prys, the first translator of the Psalms into Welsh.

There is much more at Selly Manor to explore, including The Kitchen, The Garret and The Solar rooms. Entrance to the Manor is priced £3.50 for adults, while family tickets are £9.50. Visit sellymanormuseum.org.uk for more information.

Images property of Brumitecture, please do not reproduce without permission.

Selly Manor

History

Selly Manor was originally built around the 1300s. It was once located in Bournebrooke village. The building was constructed in traditional oak beams with a filling of ‘wattle and daub’ in architectural the style of the period. It was a Manor House to the Jouette family.

Over time, various changes were made to the building including the addition of brick chimneys, the three gables, and the later conversion into three dwellings named ‘Rookery Cottages‘. By the 20th century, Rookery Cottages were neglected and suffering structurally as a result.

George Cadbury bought the property in 1907, and began work on it in 1914. With the help of architect William Alexander Harvey, he took the property apart and erected it in nearby Bourneville, near to his new chocolate factory. The project cost around £6,000 to complete.

Fact file:

Location: Maple Road, Bourneville

Built: 1300s

Style: Tudor exterior

Status: Grade II Heritage Listed

Use: Museum

Further reading: